h1

June 20th Show

20 June 2008

So, I just got home from my show at Mocha Blend Café…and, well the place wasn’t too busy, which was slightly disappointing. But at the same time, it was kind of nice to have a small crowd (aka my dad, julie, and her family plus a few others) to work out the kinks in things.

That said, there were a few things that went wrong: My effects processor/tuner ran out of batteries which wasn’t such a big deal, but was unfortunate because it was the only thing I didn’t buy back-up batteries for. Such is life.  That said most other things went well, I forgot a few words, but nothing huge, except my extended intro to New American Classic because the first line escaped me…But other than that, and not being able to hear myself in the monitor, things went well. My voice was decent, especially for not being able to hear myself too well.

So, here’s the set-list, which I ended up playing out of order as well as skipping “Road to Joy”. To make up for that I played an extended version of “Hallelujah” with an extra verse from the Leonard Cohen version:

First Hour:
Let it Be – The Beatles
First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes
L’existence précède l’essence*
The River – Bruce Springsteen
El Scorcho – Weezer
We are Nowhere and It’s Now – Bright Eyes
Sitting By a Stream of Consciousness*
Butterfly – Weezer
1234 1234 – Catch22/Streetlight Manifesto
Lua – Bright Eyes
I Miss You – Blink 182
Pacing the Cage – Bruce Cockburn
New American Classic – Taking Back Sunday

Second Hour:
Holiday in Spain – Counting Crows
feeling kind of blue *
19 Years Old*
Adam’s Song – Blink 182
Road to Joy – Bright Eyes
Hurt – Johnny Cash/NIN
The Boy who Blocked His Own Shot – Brand New
Don’t Know When But a Day is Gonna Come – Bright Eyes
Let it Be – The Beatles
Pork and Beans – Weezer
Mr. Brightside – The Killers
You – Bad Religion
Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley/Leonard Cohen

I’m really looking forward to the next show , now that I have an idea of which settings on the mixer need to be fixed so I can hear myself…

The owners of the place apologized profusely at the end for the small crowd, but I told them it was no big deal and let them know that I’m looking forward to coming back. It’ll be a good time. I’ve been talking to a few other places, so hopefully they’ll get back to me…

Hope some of you can make it to the next one?

Leave a Reply

